World Cancer Day Challenge!

Today, Feb. 4th, is World Cancer Day! In support of my campaign with The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Boston Team in Training, I’m putting a CHALLENGE out to you today! Who’s in?! I’m asking everyone who hasn’t had the chance to donate yet, to make today the day! I’m also asking every single one of my Facebook friends to donate $1 today to my team. Do it in honor or memory of those in your life that have or are fighting this ugly disease! For anyone who donates as little as $1 today to my team in honor of the global fight against cancer, you’ll be entered into a raffle prize to win an Amazon gift card. Along with a $1 donation, I’m asking you to make a difference in someone’s life who has been affected by cancer. Show love. Send a card. Make a meal. Run an errand. Be a friend.

DONATE HERE: http://pages.teamintraining.org/ma/boston16/adourte

 

“To everyone who’s hit their limit and even when you think you’re finished… It’s not over yet… Keep on fighting!… Life is the race we run, so run ’til the race is done… Don’t you ever give up!… Hope is rising, never give in, never give up!”  For King and Country
(A special thank you to Kristin for putting this video together!)

**********************************************************************

January Update: My Journey to Boston 

My training plan is going great! For the month of January, I ran a total of 159 miles, even with the Blizzard of 2016!

My longest run so far this training cycle was an 18 mile run last Friday, Jan. 30th. I took this picture when I finished the run!

Running in snow

The month of January also included 5 cross-training work-outs. Four of them comprised of walking incline on the treadmill, yoga, weights, crunches, squats, etc. And, one of them was a class at 9Round, which is a kickboxing fitness circuit (and kicked my butt!).

9R

So far, Team Alyssa has raised $12,127.60. Knowing the positive impact that this money will make both for research and also in the lives of those who are fighting cancer everyday is what it’s all about! You guys seriously rock!

Screen Shot 2016-02-03 at 7.49.01 PM

To date, my entire Boston TNT has raised a whopping $484,088!!!! The team is trying to break the $500,000 mark by the training run this Saturday as we work toward our team goal of $665,000. The team consists of survivors, families members who have lost loved ones, and so many people with incredible stories! Many team members are running long distances for the very first time in their lives and the team ran it’s first 1/2 marathon training run this past weekend!

Are you up for the challenge? http://pages.teamintraining.org/ma/boston16/adourte

Leave a Reply

